I’ve talked about how I didn’t always have cable TV during my childhood before so I didn’t have ten thousand channels to choose from. If I did have such a variety to choose from I probably still would have watched The Simpsons every single time it was on.

Especially the Treehouse of Horror episodes

I practically know each episode by heart and my brothers and I drove my mom crazy reciting every line! The Simpsons taught me the importance of family, the beauty of the macabre Poe, but perhaps most importantly, that one does not make friends with salad. I can honestly say however, that even though it was massively entertaining it doesn’t hold a candle to to what I consider Groening’s best work, Futurama.

The only show supported by the Space Pope

Despite the drastic differences in setting and characters both shows are basically about dysfunctional families and know how to work it into hilarity. However where The Simpsons is for the everyman, Futurama’s audience is aimed more at nerds and geeks culture, people like Groening himself, and by God does he know how to make us laugh. Futurama is filled to the brim with math and science jokes, even going so far as to have an episode based around a mathematical theorem that a writer created!

My blog is bad and I should feel bad…

And the memes!! Don’t even get me started on how many memes Futurama has started or how it’s affected internet culture.

But I digress, so why do I think that Futurama is a better show than The Simpsons? It’s rather simple actually, when I think of some of my favorite Simpsons episodes (like the Who Shot Mr. Burns twofer or the Behind The Music episode) they are good, yeah, but after you finish watching them you are left with nothing but a few repeatable lines. The best episodes of Futurama however, are not just comical, but heart wrenching.

Take for example some of my two favorite episodes, The Luck of the Fryrish and Jurassic Bark. Both episodes present the typical comedic story in normal Matt Groening fashion, but then someone throws a wrench in the gears and you find yourself drowning in the tears of a schoolgirl… and then you realize, you are that school girl and….  OH GAWD HOW DID THIS HAPPEN I WAS LAUGHING NOT TWO SECONDS AGO!!!!

And that my friends, is so much more than entertainment.

– Karinacus who li-GIVE ALL GLORY TO THE HYPNOTOAD.

*BWWWAHHHHHH*

 

3 responses »

  1. naritachi says:

    ALL GLORY TO TH-ALL GORY TO THE HYPNOTOAD

  2. […] Matt Groening Knows Can Do More Than Entertain – Another person who puts Futurama above The Simpsons: But I digress, so why do I think that Futurama is a better show than The Simpsons? It’s rather simple actually, when I think of some of my favorite Simpsons episodes (like the Who Shot Mr. Burns twofer or the Behind The Music episode) they are good, yeah, but after you finish watching them you are left with nothing but a few repeatable lines. The best episodes of Futurama however, are not just comical, but heart wrenching. […]

Leave a Reply

